Three Previously Unrecorded Psathyrella Species in Korea

Genus Psathyrella was divided into six genera (Coprinellus, Cystoagaricus, Heteropsathyrella, Kauffmania, Psathyrella, and Typhrasa) according to recent molecular phylogenetic studies and 17 species are recorded in Korea.
Morphological species identification of this genus is often difficult due to their very similar characteristics. So molecular phylogenetic methods with microscopic observation in essential to identify them accurate. In the process of investigating fungi in Taebaeksan National Park, three unrecorded species (Psathyrella corrugis, P. gossypina, and P. singeri) were found. The three species were identified and described using morphological and molecular phylogenetic methods and finally listed on the national biological list.